Lower Moormans’ River 12/22/2011

Thursday, December 22, 2011
1600-1645
Air temp – 64 degrees F
Water temp – 46 degrees F

My brother and my best friend came to visit me over the holiday weekend, since i was on call all weekend and my wife went home to spend time with her family.

My brother kept my dog Tucker on leash but allowed him to scour the area for deer and bear scent.

The section of the river that I fished was right beside the Trout Unlimited parking lot. The current here is nonexistent at normal flows, it resembles a flats section. Today the flows were a little higher. My first attempts were stripping a sturtevant Stryker upstream and 45 degrees across. No luck. Next I put a small white indicator on above a small bead head pheasant tail and dead drifted it through the thalweg. Third cast, connection! A nice 13″ inch stocked rainbow came to hand. I was fishing with a 7’6″ 6 weight Hank Woolman bamboo fly rod.

A great early winter light chasing fishing trip.

This entry was posted in Fishing Report and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

