A Presidential Dove?

Tucker and I are officially on the boards this hunting season. After a couple of fruitless trips to the local WMA’s we bagged our first dove of the season. Thanks to a very gracious attending, I was able to hunt on a private farm not far from an American history icon. James Madison was instrumental in the writing of the Constitution and was the fourth president of the USA. He is also the namesake of my undergraduate institution. Montpelier was his family home and is situated in a beautiful part of Virginia.


There were not a lot of dove flying around. However, beside a source of water we heard some dove calling to each other with their distinctive perch–coo. My rendition was hardly convincing.

At least Tucker was fooled by my dove calling


A single bird saw me walking near his perch and took off flying across my shooting lane. I dropped him cleanly at 50 yards with one shot. The small herd of cattle feeding nearby weren’t sure if that shot was a signal for feeding time or an unwelcome intruder. Fortunately, for the intruder, they only came within 100 yards to check me out. Tucker went right to the bird, but he still struggles with giving it to me cleanly. Luckily he didn’t bruise the meat.

It took a lot for Mr. Tucker to hold still


As the sun set over the mountains and the shooting hours drew to an end Tucker and I began the short walk back to the truck. The weather was perfect. I almost needed my shooting vest. The scenery was the definition of idyllic and it was neat to think that James Madison may have wandered these fields himself 200+ years ago…

This entry was posted in Hunting report and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Presidential Dove?

  1. KT says:

    Love that dog.

  2. Mike Boryan says:

    Hi Andy,

    I enjoyed your story here. Damn if Tucker isn’t the most handsome of hounds.

    One suggestion, I would change the third sentence to:

    > > Thanks to a very gracious attending, I was able to hunt on a private farm not far from the home of an American history icon. >

    ‘ > >

Leave a Reply

